Winnipeg 2017

The 2017 Canada Summer Games are coming to Winnipeg, just in time for their 50th anniversary.

Winnipeg, Manitoba will host the Canada Summer Games July 28 – August 13, 2017. Featuring 16 sports, over 250 events and a major cultural festival, the 2017 Canada Games will welcome over 4,000 athletes and coaches and more than 20,000 visitors.

The Canada Games are this country’s largest multi-sport event for young athletes and in 2017 will celebrate their 50th anniversary and Canada’s 150th birthday. The 2017 Canada Summer Games will leave a lasting legacy of new and enhanced sport facilities, volunteer and leadership development that will benefit athletes and the broader community for years to come.

The 2017 Canada Summer Games Host Society would like to acknowledge the co-hosts for the 2017 Canada Games, Treaty No. 1, Treaty No. 3 and the Manitoba Metis Federation whose traditional lands and waters these Games will be held upon as well as the many Elders and Grandmothers that have provided the Host Society with cultural guidance for the Games.

Winnipeg is the second city in Manitoba to host a summer edition of the Canada Games after Brandon hosted a summer Games in 1997. We can’t wait to welcome the athletes, coaches, officials and everyone who will be joining us for the 2017 Canada Summer Games on the occasion of the 50th anniversary.


Together, we’ll help build a strong, healthy Canada through engagement in sport, united in celebration of our many cultures and shared national heritage.


The Canada Games are a powerful, nation-building event that promotes unity, cultural understanding and diversity.

The first Canada Games were held in Québec City in 1967 and were an outstanding success. They paved the way for what is now Canada’s largest multi-sport competition for young athletes. As the best in their age group, amateur competitors from all over Canada come to the Canada Games from the 13 provinces and territories across the nation and compete for the Canada Games Flag and Centennial Cup.

These athletes are our country’s next generation of national, international and Olympic champions. Some of the best sports stars to ever come out of Canada gave us their first glimpses of success at the Canada Games, including:

  • Susan Auch, Team MB - Speed Skating: 1983 Canada Winter Games in Saguenay/Lac-St-Jean, Québec, Cycling: 1985 Canada Summer Games in Saint John, New Brunswick
  • Sidney Crosby, Team NS - Men's Hockey: 2003 Canada Winter Games in Bathurst-Campbellton, New Brunswick
  • Cindy Klassen, Team MB - Speed Skating: 1995 Canada Winter Games in Grande Prairie, Alberta; 1999 Canada Winter Games in Corner Brook, Newfoundland; Cycling: 2001 Canada Summer Games in London Ontario
  • Catriona Le May Doan, Team Sask - Speed Skating and Athletics: 1983 Canada Winter Games in Saguenay/Lac-St-Jean, Quebec; 1987 Canada Winter Games in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia
  • Steve Nash, Team BC - Men’s Basketball: 1993 Canada Summer Games in Kamloops, British Columbia
  • Sami-Jo Small, Team MB - Women’s Hockey: 1991 Canada Winter Games in Prince Edward Island; Athletics: 1993 Canada Summer Games in Kamloops, British Columbia, 1997 Canada Summer Games in Brandon, Manitoba
  • Bruny Surin, Team QC - Athletics: 1985 Canada Summer Games in Saint John, New Brunswick
  • Adam van Koeverden, Team ON - Canoe-Kayak: 1997 Canada Summer Games in Brandon, Manitoba

The Canada Games — a celebration of youth, sport, culture and community — are the product of an ongoing collaboration between the Government of Canada, provincial/territorial governments, host municipalities, strong private sector partnerships and the Canada Games Council.

Winnipeg 2017

Les Jeux du Canada s’en viennent à Winnipeg en 2017, juste à temps pour leur 50e anniversaire

Winnipeg sera l’hôte des Jeux d’été du Canada du 28 juillet au 13 août 2017. Réunissant plus de 4000 athlètes et entraîneurs et quelque 20 000 visiteurs, les Jeux seront le théâtre de 250 épreuves dans 16 sports et d’un festival culturel à grand déploiement.

Plus grand événement multisports au pays pour athlètes de la relève, les Jeux du Canada célébreront en 2017 leur 50e anniversaire et le 150e du Canada. Ils légueront un héritage en infrastructures sportives et un capital humain et organisationnel dont profiteront les athlètes et l’ensemble de la population pour les années à venir.

La Société hôtesse des Jeux d’été du Canada 2017 reconnait les co-hôtes des Jeux du Canada 2017, les Premières Nations visées par les traités nos 1 et 3 et la Manitoba Manitoba Metis Federation dont les terres ancestrales seront le théâtre de Jeux, ainsi que la participation des nombreux ainés et grand-mères qui ont fourni à la Société hôtesse des avis conseils culturels.

Winnipeg est la deuxième ville manitobaine à accueillir les Jeux d’été du Canada après Brandon en 1997. Nous sommes impatients d’accueillir athlètes, entraîneurs, officiels et tous les visiteurs à l’occasion du 50e anniversaire des Jeux du Canada en 2017!


Ensemble, nous bâtirons un Canada fort et en santé qui embrasse le sport, uni en célébration de sa diversité culturelle et de son patrimoine national commun.


 

Les Jeux du Canada sont un événement mobilisateur qui fait la promotion de l’unité, l’entente culturelle et la diversité.

Les premiers Jeux d’hiver du Canada ont eu lieu à Québec en 1967. Ces jeux ont connu un succès retentissant et ont ouvert la voie à ce qui est aujourd’hui la plus importante manifestation multisports pour jeunes athlètes au Canada. Les participants aux Jeux du Canada sont les meilleurs athlètes amateurs dans leur groupe d’âge au pays et proviennent de plus de 800 communautés à travers le Canada.

Ces athlètes représentent la prochaine génération de champions nationaux, internationaux et olympiques. Certaines des plus grandes vedettes sportives canadiennes ont connu leurs premiers succès aux Jeux du Canada, notamment :

  • Susan Auch, Équipe Manitoba – patinage de vitesse : Jeux d’hiver du Canada 1983 à Saguenay–Lac-St-Jean (Québec); cyclisme : Jeux d’été du Canada 1985 à Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick)
  • Sidney Crosby, Équipe Nouvelle-Écosse – hockey masculin : Jeux d’hiver du Canada 2003 à Bathurst-Campbellton (Nouveau-Brunswick)
  • Cindy Klassen, Équipe Manitoba – patinage de vitesse : Jeux d’hiver du Canada 1995 (Grande Prairie, Alb.); Jeux d’hiver du Canada 1999 à Corner Brook (Terre-Neuve); Cyclisme : Jeux d’été du Canada 2001 à London (Ontario)
  • Catriona Le May Doan, Équipe Saskatchewan – patinage de vitesse et athlétisme : Jeux d’hiver du Canada 1983 à Saguenay–Lac-St-Jean (Québec); Jeux d’hiver du Canada 1987 à Cap-Breton (Nouvelle-Écosse)
  • Steve Nash, Équipe Colombie-Britannique – basketball masculin : Jeux d’été du Canada 1993 à Kamloops (C.-B.)
  • Sami-Jo Small, Équipe Manitoba – hockey féminin : Jeux d’hiver du Canada 1991 à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard; athlétisme : Jeux d’été du Canada 1993 à Kamloops (C.-B.), Jeux d’été du Canada 1997 à Brandon (Manitoba)
  • Bruny Surin, Équipe Québec – athlétisme : Jeux d’été du Canada 1985 à Saint John (N.-B.)
  • Adam van Koeverden, Équipe Ontario – canoë-kayak : Jeux d’été du Canada 1997 à Brandon (Manitoba)

Célébration de la jeunesse, du sport, de la culture et de la solidarité, les Jeux du Canada sont le fruit d’une collaboration entre le gouvernement du Canada, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les municipalités hôtes, le secteur privé et le Conseil des Jeux du Canada.